	: IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS : COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA :
Plaintiff	<u>:</u>
	: No.
V.	: :
	<u>:</u>
	:
Defendant	•

NOTICE OF HEARING AND ORDER

YOU HAVE BEEN SUED IN COURT. If you wish to defend against the claim set forth in the following papers, you must appear at the hearing scheduled herein. If you fail to do so, the case may proceed against you and a FINAL order may be entered against you granting the relief requested in the petition. In particular, you may be evicted from your residence, be prohibited from possessing any firearm, other weapon, ammunition or any firearm license, and lose other important rights, including custody of your children. Any protection order granted by a court may be considered in subsequent proceedings under Title 23 (Domestic Relations) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, including child custody proceedings under Chapter 53 (relating to custody).

A hearing on the matter is scheduled for:		,	at:	in
			(Time of day) (AM/PM)	
Courtroom:	at:		_ County Courthouse.	

If an order of protection has been entered, you MUST obey the order until it is modified or terminated by the court after notice and hearing. If you disobey this order, the police or sheriff may arrest you. Violation of this order may subject you to a charge of indirect criminal contempt which is punishable by a fine of up to \$1,000 and/or up to six months in jail under 23 Pa C.S.A. §6114. Violation may also subject you to prosecution and criminal penalties under the Pennsylvania Crimes Code. Under federal law, 18. U.S.C. §2265, this order is enforceable anywhere in the United States, tribal lands, U.S. Territories and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. If you travel outside of the state and intentionally violate this order, you may be subject to federal criminal proceedings under the Violence Against Women Act. 18 U.S.C. §§2261-2262.

If this order directs you to relinquish any firearm, other weapon, ammunition or any firearm license to the sheriff, you may do so upon service of this order. As an alternative, you may relinquish any firearm, other weapon, or ammunition listed herein to a third party provided you and the third party first comply with all requirements to obtain a safekeeping permit. 23 Pa.C.S.A. §6108.3. You must relinquish any firearm, other weapon, ammunition or any firearm license listed in the order no later than 24 hours after service of the order. If, due to their current location, firearms, other weapons or ammunition cannot reasonably be retrieved within the time for relinquishment, you must provide an affidavit to the sheriff listing the firearms, other weapons or ammunition and their current location no later than 24 hours after service of the order. Failure to timely relinquish any firearm, other weapon, ammunition or any firearm license shall result in a violation of this order and may result in criminal conviction under the Uniform Firearms Act, 18 Pa. C.S.A. §6105.

NOTICE: Even if this order does not direct you to relinquish firearms, you may be subject to federal firearms prohibitions and federal criminal penalties under 18 U.S.C. §922(g)(8).

YOU SHOULD TAKE THIS PAPER TO YOUR LAWYER AT ONCE. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO HAVE A LAWYER REPRESENT YOU AT THE HEARING. THE COURT WILL NOT, HOWEVER, APPOINT A

LAWYER FOR YOU. IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A LAWYER GO TO OR TELEPHONE THE OFFICE SET FORTH BELOW. THIS OFFICE CAN PROVIDE YOU WITH INFORMATION ABOUT HIRING A LAWYER. IF YOU CANNOT AFFORD TO HIRE A LAWYER, THIS OFFICE MAY BE ABLE TO PROVIDE YOU WITH INFORMATION ABOUT AGENCIES THAT MAY OFFER LEGAL SERVICES TO ELIGIBLE PERSONS AT A REDUCED FEE OR NO FEE. IF YOU CANNOT FIND A LAWYER, YOU MAY HAVE TO PROCEED WITHOUT ONE.

County Lawyer Referral Service:

Agency Name:	
Street Address:	
City, State, Zip Code:	 _
Phone: ()	 -
Distribution to:	